Reorganization Meeting of January 6, 2020

The Reorganization Meeting of Lehighton Borough Council was held on Monday, January 6, 2020 at 7 p.m. in the Municipal Building. The meeting was called to order by Mayor Clark Ritter. Members of Council were: Ryan Saunders, Joe Flickinger, Autumn Abelovsky, Grant Hunsicker, Lisa Perry, Darryl Arner and Jr. Councilor Grant Schaeffer. Absent: William Rodweller.

Officials in attendance were: Borough Manager Nicole Beckett, Borough Secretary Brenda Kreitz, Fire Chief Patrick Mriss, Police Chief Brian Biechy, L&P Superintendent Lonny Armbruster, Public Works Superintendent Kris Kunkle and Recreation Director Tom Evans.

Welcome by Mayor

Mayor Clark Ritter welcomed everyone to the start of a new year and swore in Grant Hunsicker, Lisa Perry and Darryl Arner.

Election of Officers

Election of President

Ryan Saunders/Joe Flickinger nominated Grant Hunsicker to be president. All were in favor. Grant Hunsicker was named Council President.

Election of Vice President

Grant Hunsicker nominated Joe Flickinger to be vice-president; Autumn Abelovsky nominated Lisa Perry to be vice-president. Grant moved the nominations be closed.

A roll call vote was taken for Joe Flickinger for vice-president with Joe Flickinger and Grant Hunsicker voting in favor of Joe being vice-president; Ryan Saunders, Autumn Abelovsky, Lisa Perry and Darryl Arner voting against Joe being vice-president.

A vote was taken for Lisa Perry for vice-president with all being in favor. Lisa Perry was named vice-president.

Appointment of Chairman Pro-Tem to Preside in the Absence of President and Vice President

Autumn Abelovsky/Grant Hunsicker nominated Ryan Saunders for president pro-tem and all were in favor. Ryan Saunders was named president pro-tem.

The meeting was then turned over to Grant Hunsicker.

Appointment of Borough Officials and Officers

Motion to Appoint/Reappoint the Following Borough Officials –

Councilors Abelovsky/Saunders made the motions to approve the list as presented and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Nicole Beckett, Borough Manager

Brenda Kreitz, Borough Secretary

Cathy Smith, Treasurer/Assistant Secretary

Kim Rubin, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer

Lonny Armbruster, L&P Supervisor

Barry Fisher, Assistant L&P Supervisor

Kris Kunkle, Public Works Supervisor

Jeff Smith, Assistant Public Works Supervisor

Tom Evans, Recreation Director

Bruce Steigerwalt, Borough Engineer

James Nanovic, Borough Solicitor

Berkheimer - Tax Collector for Earned Income & Local Service Taxes

Barry Isett & Associates, Zoning/Code Enforcement Officer

Elizabeth Lorenz, Health Officer

Patrick Mriss, Fire Chief

Michael Mriss, Assistant Fire Chief

Brian Biechy, Police Chief

Times News, Official Public Notification

System Design Engineers, Sewage Enforcement Officers

Appointments to Authorities/Commissions/Boards

Appointment to Lehigh Canal Recreation Commission

Councilor Saunders said he would remain on the board if it pleased council. Councilors Perry/Arner made the motion to appoint Ryan and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Appointment to the Library Board

Councilor Abelovsky said she would remain on the board if it pleased council. Councilors Perry/Arner made the motions to appoint Autumn and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Appointment of Council Representative for Police Pension Committee

Councilor Perry said she would remain on the committee if it please council. Councilors

Saunders/Abelovsky made the motions to appoint Lisa and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Appointment of Delegate and Alternate Delegate to the Carbon County Tax Collection Committee

Nicole said she serves as the voting delegate. She said a council member or an employee needs to be appointed as the alternate delegate. She said the meetings are held at 10 a.m. on a Wednesday once per quarter at the school district and she usually makes the meetings. Nicole said it can be a member of council or Brenda if council chose to put her in as the alternate.

Councilors Saunders/Perry made the motions to appoint Nicole as the delegate and Brenda as the alternate and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Designate voting delegate and alternate for the Carbon County Council of Governments

President Hunsicker said Joe was the representative but no longer wants the position.

Councilors Flickinger/Arner made the motions to appoint Lisa as the delegate and Ryan as the alternate and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

<u>Authorization to Update Bank Depositories and Signatories for all Borough Financial Transactions - Resolution</u> R001-2020

Councilors Perry/Flickinger made the motion to adopt and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

<u>Designate Voting Delegate and Alternate for PSAB Annual Conference</u> (To be held June 7-10 at Hershey)

Councilors Arner/Saunders made the motions to appoint Grant the voting delegate and Lisa as the alternate and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Adjournment

Councilors Saunders/Arner made the motions adjourn at 7:15 p.m. All were in favor.

Brenda L. Kreitz Borough Secretary