Reorganization Meeting of January 3, 2022

The Reorganization Meeting of Lehighton Borough Council was held on Monday, January 3, 2022 at 7 p.m. in the Municipal Building. The meeting was called to order by Mayor Clark Ritter. Members of Council were: Ryan Saunders, Joe Flickinger, Autumn Abelovsky, Grant Hunsicker, Lisa Perry, Darryl Arner and Donnie Rehrig

Officials in attendance were: Borough Manager Nicole Beckett and Borough Secretary Brenda Kreitz. Welcome by Mayor

Mayor Clark Ritter welcomed everyone to the start of a new year and swore in Grant Hunsicker, Donnie Rehrig and Joe Flickinger.

Election of Officers

Election of President

Joe Flickinger nominated Grant Hunsicker to be president. All were in favor. Grant Hunsicker was named Council President.

Election of Vice President

Joe Flickinger nominated Lisa Perry to be vice-president. Donnie Rehrig nominated Joe Flickinger to be vice-president. Joe declined. Lisa Perry was named Council Vice-President and all were in favor.

The meeting was then turned over to Grant Hunsicker.

Appointment of Chairman Pro-Tem to Preside in the Absence of President and Vice President

Grant Hunsicker appointed Joe Flickinger as President Pro-Tem.

Appointment of Borough Officials and Officers

Motion to Appoint/Reappoint the Following Borough Officials –

Councilors Saunders/Flickinger made the motions to approve the list as presented and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Nicole Beckett, Borough Manager

Brenda Kreitz, Borough Secretary

Cathy Smith, Treasurer/Assistant Secretary

Kim Rubin, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer

Lonny Armbruster, L&P Supervisor

Barry Fisher, Assistant L&P Supervisor

Kris Kunkle, Public Works Supervisor

Jeff Smith, Assistant Public Works Supervisor

Tom Evans, Recreation Director

Bruce Steigerwalt, Borough Engineer

James Nanovic, Borough Solicitor

Berkheimer - Tax Collector for Earned Income & Local Service Taxes

Barry Isett & Associates, Zoning/Code Enforcement Officer

Barry Isett & Associates, Health Officer

Patrick Mriss, Fire Chief

Michael Mriss, Assistant Fire Chief

Brian Biechy, Police Chief

Times News, Official Public Notification

System Design Engineers, Sewage Enforcement Officers

Appointments to Authorities/Commissions/Boards

Appointment to Lehigh Canal Recreation Commission

Councilor Saunders said he would remain on the board.

Appointment to the Library Board

Councilor Abelovsky said she could not remain on the board due to a conflict with the meeting dates. Councilor Flickinger said he would take the appointment.

Appointment of Council Representative for Police Pension Committee

Councilor Perry said she would remain on the committee.

Appointment of Delegate and Alternate Delegate to the Carbon County Tax Collection Committee

Nicole said she would remain as the voting delegate. She said a council member or an employee needs to be appointed as the alternate delegate. Nicole said Brenda was the alternate last year.

Council appointed Nicole as the delegate and Brenda as the alternate.

Designate voting delegate and alternate for the Carbon County Council of Governments

Councilor Perry said she would remain as the delegate and Councilor Saunders said he would remain as the alternate.

<u>Authorization to Update Bank Depositories and Signatories for all Borough Financial Transactions - Resolution</u> R1-2022

Councilors Flickinger/Abelovsky made the motion to adopt and all were in favor with no questions or objections.

Designate Voting Delegate and Alternate for PSAB Annual Conference (To be held May 22-25 at Hershey)

Grant said he will remain the voting delegate and Ryan said he would take the alternate.

Adjournment

Councilors Saunders/Rehrig made the motions adjourn at 7:10 p.m. All were in favor.

Brenda L. Kreitz Borough Secretary